Published: “Ashes” -Windfall Journal

Windfall Press publishes Windfall: A Journal of Poetry of Place to engage readers with what they describe as the opposite of globalization; localization. The editors describe poetry of place as “a poetry which values locales, which sees and lets the reader experience what makes a place unique among places.”

A couple years ago I wrote a poem about the Willamette River. To me, this river itself is poetry of place, and I decided to try and work that onto a page. As with a lot of my photography I tried to remove the human, often feeling like the human element scars and degrades the image. But I was missing something. As a writer, and a being, it becomes more clear with each experience that the human presence and spirit is a part of the very things I attempt to create, place.

I re-imagined, reworked, and reworded the piece. And I’m learning a bit more about the persistence it takes to write the way I want to write. This poem, in some form, had been rejected five or six times. I even managed to hear a rejection last year from this same journal. I’m not frustrated by rejections, here you can read thoughts about failure.

Also:

  • James Joyce’s had Dubliners rejected 22 times.
  • E.E. Cummings had 14 publishers reject No Thanks.
  • Robert Pirsig had Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance rejected 121 times. 121!
  • One of the 15 publishers to reject Anne Frank wrote, “the girl doesn’t, it seems to me, have a special perception or feeling which would lift that book above the ‘curiosity’ level.”

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Interesting note on contributors: 21 live in Oregon, 4 in Washington, 1 in Idaho, 1 in British Columbia, 1 in the Philippines. (Somebody snuck in to the PNW theme…)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

write, reject, rewrite, cheers

d

 

 

Leave a Reply

