Acronyms for Success

I had one of those off weeks, were some things didn’t go my way and the things that did seemed to go my way because I forced it.  No worries, do some handstands, play the ukulele, write some poetry, make a lot of useless acronyms…uh.

I am a USPCV, in the CRM sector, and AAE (acronyms are everywhere). I have created some acronyms of my own, some are 100% accurate and some are…kinda sorta on point.  This post is mostly for other PCVs, as they will know that some of these arrangements of letters HARP (have a real purpose).

roadstand samstand

roadstand samstand

Peace Corps Philippines Acronyms I Made Up (or enhanced)

  • BIFLC- Because I Felt Like Crying
  • MNIJ- My Name Isn’t Joe
  • WWU- Walking Without Umbrella (for bad@$$es only)
  • I NOAH- In Need Of A Hug
  • SIDS- Stepped In Dog $#!&
  • FML- Failed Massively, Linguistically
  • FACE IT- Fail At Communicating Everytime I Try
  • PST- Practicing Self Therapy
  • MMMB- Missing Missoula, Montana Beers
  • IM FIB- I Miss Flowers In Beards
  • FAT ME- Falsifying Agility, Then Making Excuses
flowers in beard

flowers in beard

Food-Related Acronyms

  • SMACK- Send Me Actual Coffee, Kindly
  • FULL- Finding Urself Lying, Likely
  • FAAM- Fish At All Meals
  • RFB- Rice For Breakfast

Coastal Resource Management Acronyms

  • CRM- Caring Right Meow
  • BOATR- Beware Of All The Rakes
  • FISHR-Finding Impressively Sneaky Humans for Registering
  • BFAR- Believing Fisheries Are Radical!
  • PCRA- Pretend to Count Resources Accurately (joke lang…)
IMG_8894

Example of falsifying agility

awful post, not sorry (APNS).

cheers,

d

2 thoughts on “Acronyms for Success

  1. YNA (You’re not alone). Most of these are sheer brilliance.
    Also, I’ve been making a journal of Peace Corps experiences I can fit on my knuckles. You know, to diversify my grad school applications.

    FUCK RICE
    ICAN WALK
    IWAN TTEA
    PAGO DAKO – IAMT IRED
    MAGA LING
    NOTT ODAY
    FEAR RAIN
    KAIN KAPA (Eat more)
    NOSE BLED
    ICAN DOIT – SOCA NYOU

    Life is weird now. Hang tough, you’re probably be hard on yourself, but really doing more than you know right now (for community, your family and yourself).

    -JADE VINE

    Like

Leave a Reply

